Architecture Foundation Australia

Richard Leplastrier


Richard Leplastrier is a seminal figure in Australian architecture and architectural education. He eschews publicity and his built works are secret treasures to be discovered only by those privileged enough to be introduced to them. His sensitivity to issues of culture and place and his accumulated wisdom in the design and making of architecture is gently revealed though his tutorial sessions in the design studio. He was awarded the Australian Institute of Architects Gold Medal in 1999, he was recipient of the 2009 Dreyer Foundation 'Prize of Honour' in Denmark and he was recipient of the 2004 'Spirit of Nature Wood Architecture Award' in Finland, other recipients include Renzo Piano, Peter Zumthor, Kengo Kuma, José Cruz Ovalle and Bijoy Jain. In 2009 Richard was elected an Honorary Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, in 2011 he received the Australian National Honour 'Order of Australia' for distinguished service to architecture and as 'an educator and mentor', and he received an Honorary International Fellowship of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 2015. Richard Leplastrier is a Professor at the University of Newcastle Australia and is one of the principle ‘masters’ on the Architecture Foundation Australia master classes.

Richard Leplastrier Movies